June 17, 2007

  • Nine Days In January, 12th-21st, 2007

    On Jan 12th,  I went to a this cool Art Space in Brooklyn called 3rd Ward I think. They have a bunch of space and rent out rooms and teach lessons on print making.
    ArtCharBl - 01

    They had a bunch of  crazy shit on display.
    ArtCharBl - 02

    Like this weird huge mechanical lute/piano that didn’t really make any noise.
    ArtCharBl - 03

    On these minute branches connected with string.
    ArtCharBl - 04

    In addition to a musical performance.
    ArtCharBl - 05

    Which included rubber banding the crowd into a smaller…
    ArtCharBl - 06

    And smaller space.
    ArtCharBl - 07

    The pictures were nice, Josh and Geoph enjoyed them.
    ArtCharBl - 08

    I liked this skin outfit, though it is a bit freaky.
    ArtCharBl - 09

    Just skin’s good enough for me.
    ArtCharBl - 10

    I liked that first picture so much I had to recreate it with the peeps I came with.
    ArtCharBl - 11

    Katz got a dope decal too.
    ArtCharBl - 12

    I was headed to Charlotte’s house for a party after, and everyone wanted to come along. Everyone now included Nick’s cousin and his friend and the friend’s girlfriend.
    ArtCharBl - 13

    I was nervous I was bringing a crowd, so I called ahead, but Charlotte said it was cool.
    ArtCharBl - 14

    And so we partied. With band.
    ArtCharBl - 15

    And a little bit with a violin.
    ArtCharBl - 16

    And it was good I came, because I brought the numbers that made the party successful.
    ArtCharBl - 17

    I even busted out the good camera for some dope portraiture. Here’s nick.
    ArtCharBl - 18

    And John.
    ArtCharBl - 19

    And I even did an impromtu photo shoot of Nick’s cousin’s friend’s girlfriend.
    ArtCharBl - 20

    Wearing some C Spot.
    ArtCharBl - 21

    And then C Spot herself.
    ArtCharBl - 22

    I forget this guy’s name, but he gave a good look.
    ArtCharBl - 23

    As did the classic pass out on the couch class act.
    ArtCharBl - 24

    Look, artsy scribbles.
    ArtCharBl - 25

    Obviously, it got late, so we all left.
    ArtCharBl - 26

    But john still had some party in him.
    ArtCharBl - 27

    A very nice night all in all.
    ArtCharBl - 28

    A few weeks earlier, I had done a favor for a the wife of a friend of mine, so she repaid me with a gift card to one of Jenna and my favorite restaurants Babbo.
    ArtCharBl - 29

    So we went. We had no reservation, so we waited by the door patiently for about 50 minutes.
    ArtCharBl - 30

    When we got to the table, Jenna was ready to eat.
    ArtCharBl - 31

    But there’s always a bit of time to ham it up for the camera.
    ArtCharBl - 32

    What can I say? Candle light is good for us.
    ArtCharBl - 33

    We had a plate of meat to start, which had some hits and some misses, like the clear paper thin slices of pig fat.
    ArtCharBl - 34

    Then this dish. I don’t remember what it is.
    ArtCharBl - 35

    The mint angel wings tasted delicious, though.
    ArtCharBl - 36

    Jenna enjoyed her ravioli
    ArtCharBl - 37

    I thought my pig got smoked a bit too much.
    ArtCharBl - 38

    But the desert never lets us down.
    ArtCharBl - 39

    Ever.
    ArtCharBl - 41

    Not even the coffee stirrers. Though this visit to Babbo did not blow me away as much as last time.
    ArtCharBl - 40

    During dinner, I got invited to some late night Wesleyan poker, so we headed to Derek and Liz’s to catch a game.
    ArtCharBl - 42

    With the usual suspects.
    ArtCharBl - 43

    Including Jenna! What a delicious addition.
    ArtCharBl - 44

    Orson thought so.
    ArtCharBl - 45

    Five days later I came across this, my editor’s reel.
    ArtCharBl - 46

    Right on time too, because I had to put in my final all night editing installment on the shotgun project.
    ArtCharBl - 47

    But not before doing some moody shots.
    ArtCharBl - 48

    In a dark.
    ArtCharBl - 49

    Or before Johnny got some good red digit shots.
    ArtCharBl - 50

    So I worked all night cutting together explosions for the Shotgun Project showing in midtown. Then I found this picture by Ben The Rose and added a vignette and some red to get it moody.
    ArtCharBl - 51

    I went back home at 5am, slept all day, then went over to Jenna’s friend’s place to do some game night action.
    ArtCharBl - 52

    Everyone gathered round for some Taboo.
    ArtCharBl - 53

    Not before the Jenna and Kerri photo shoot.
    ArtCharBl - 54

    Drink up.
    ArtCharBl - 55

    Feel up.
    ArtCharBl - 56

    Lick it up.
    ArtCharBl - 57

    And kiss it up.
    ArtCharBl - 58

    Now we can taboo! A fun game.
    ArtCharBl - 59

    But we had to be on our way to our second party of the night. Yes, we are so popular our Saturdays come double booked.
    ArtCharBl - 60

    It was Derek’s birthday.
    ArtCharBl - 61

    So we partied at his friend’s nice wide open apartment.
    ArtCharBl - 62

    And felt cheery.
    ArtCharBl - 63

    Even caught up with a this globe trotting couple, back from several countries in southern asia.
    ArtCharBl - 64

    Interestingly enough, I never got a picture with the birthday boy. How strange. But on with the post. Jenna and I went to bed and awoke on the final day of the Annie Liebewitz exhibit. So we trained it down to the Brooklyn Museum.
    ArtCharBl - 65

    And pulled “a Mexican” on the huge long crowds, just walking through the front door, and buying tickets with an elegant cut. One of the best i’ve done.
    ArtCharBl - 66

    Saw these crazy lifelike rubber statues.
    ArtCharBl - 68 ArtCharBl - 67

    Then couldn’t cut to get into the actual gallery, so we did take a bit of a line.
    ArtCharBl - 69

    But that was nice, cause we got to see these beauties.
    ArtCharBl - 70

    The exhibit was packed, so I couldn’t take the pictures I wanted.
    ArtCharBl - 72

    But damn that woman can shoot.
    ArtCharBl - 73

    Pretty spectacular portraiture.
    ArtCharBl - 71

    Pretty spectacular weekend.
    ArtCharBl - 74

    Which finished with a peekaboo.
    ArtCharBl - 75

    Dinner at klong.
    ArtCharBl - 77

    Beautiful.
    ArtCharBl - 76

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *